Posted by: SJS | April 16, 2016

“Speak to the earth”

While a blog post on The Book of Job which features gorgeous photographs from the world of nature may seem to be worlds away from the gritty history of Red Stahley and the PT Boats of WWII, there are, in truth, more connections than meet the eye.

Through the ever expanding links that are now possible via the Internet, I connected with Inese–a photographer, grandmother, and artist from County Tipperary in Ireland.  Her generous and enthusiastic support of my blog about my father felt like an angelic endorsement.  And getting such a powerful endorsement from Ireland–the birthplace of my grandparents–Barney O’Neill and Nellie Sheehan– just added to the depth of the joy.

And this meditation of The Book of Job–one of my favorite portions of the Judeo-Christian Scriptures –was just too good not to share with my readers.  And, of course, the photographs are, each and every one, a sublime meditation of the presence of the transcendent mystery that surrounds us every day.

So it all hangs together–my continuing journey of discovery about my father, the proud heritage of my mother’s family, the wonder of being alive, and the gracious mystery of human connection.

I am happy to introduce the readers of my blog to  fellow blogger who has–and continues–to make the world a brighter place each day.

Blessings to all.

 

Making memories

waterlilly

One of the most poetic books in Old Testament is the Book of Job. Basically, the book is about a man asking the same questions many of you have asked: What have I done to deserve this? Why good people suffer? Is there a God of justice at all?

I am not going to try to answer these questions, but I do want to challenge you to ask yourself some other questions also found in the Book.

Job knows that somewhere in the Universe there is God, the Creator. How can we know that? By learning, of course:

Job 12: 7  But ask now the beasts, and they shall teach thee; and the fowls of the air, and they shall tell thee.

heron

quail

Indeed, studying the physical aspect of life, from a cell to an organism, from chemistry to physiology, one can discover that God reveals Himself in many ways. Is evolution consistent with…

View original post 541 more words

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for reblogging, and for your kind words! My father was a POW, and my heart goes out to all touched by war.

    • It was my great pleasure. Your words and photos epitomize beauty, grace, and the wonder of creation. As I have researched and shared my father’s experience of war, and through the blog connected with others who have similar stories to share, my gratitude for all that is positive in human experience has grown deeper than every before. Your work surely exemplifies the positive. And God bless your noble father! Keep up the wonderful work.

      • Thank you so much for your kind comment, and for all your research. If we keep the memory alive, there is a chance that fascism will never return.


Leave a Reply

Categories

