Posted by: SJS | August 24, 2015

A view from the stern

view from the stern

An excellent photo that captures the view of a sailor looking back at another PT following behind, moving through the wake churned up by the lead boat.

It is through photos like this that I gain the strongest impression of what my father must have seen on a daily basis during his service in the Mediterranean and the South Pacific.  If a picture is worth a thousand words, this picture is easily worth ten times that amount to me.  From the things my father shared with me over the years, it seemed he never felt more alive than he did when he was on a PT boat going at full throttle across an open sea.  When I look at this photo, it helps me to better understand just what he meant.

Responses

  1. I can relate to what you’re saying. The more I research, the more I understand my father’s words.


Leave a Reply

Categories

