Posted by: SJS | December 20, 2014

Happy 90th, Dad!

Today marks the 90th anniversary of my father’s birth on December 20, 1924 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  He passed away over 15 years ago, on November 13, 1999.  Through my research for this blog and the connection I made with PT sailors who knew him–and remembered him very well–the sting of losing him has been reduced in ways I could never have imagined.  Hearing stories about him from men who shared so many life-changing experiences with him has taken my relationship with my father to a new depth and helped me to forge a stronger bond with him.

The photograph shows Red Stahley at a PT base in North Africa which was part of the Allied campaign to invade Southern France in the late summer of 1944.  His smile, one of the things I best remember about him from my earliest memories, shines through in this photo.

Red at Bizerta PT base '44

Red at Bizerta PT base 1944

Responses

  1. I think the process of blogging about their history brings us closer than any of us might have ever imagined to our fathers, uncles and other family members. The process of researching and writing down the stories of their lives causes us to pause and reflect in ways that might not otherwise have happened. Just a thought.

    • A,

      You are right about the effects of blogging. With both my father and my Uncle Frank, the experience of writing about their WWII service has been an amazing way to deepen my relationships with them. Thanks so much for your support and encouragement– it means a lot.

      Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

