Posted by: SJS | June 21, 2014

Red and…Jim Nixon on the 373?

Red & fellow PT sailor

Looking through the old family album that has all of my father’s photos from WWII, I came across this picture which has long been a source of mystery and fascination to the family. It shows Red and an unidentified crewmate on PT 373 sometime in 1945. While there are many photos of my father with other PT buddies, this photo is unique. It suggests a bond of deep friendship and a real sense of trust. The smiles are relaxed and genuine. These are two sailors who’ve been through it and know they can rely on each other when things get difficult.

Could this be Jim Nixon? After seeing so many photos of Jim that his son, Mike, shared with me, I see a resemblance in the face of this unidentified sailor with my father in ’45. The strong jaw, the thick black hair, and the wide smile all reminded me of Jim from the photos that Mike sent me.

Maybe Jim and his family members can study the photo and let us know what they think. Solving this mystery would be an amazing thing.

Thanks again, Jim, for sharing all those wonderful family photos and letter with me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

