Posted by: SJS | April 9, 2014

Jim Nixon, USN PT sailor

JTN photo

Among the many striking images that Mike Nixon shared with me, I was especially taken by this one. Young Jim Nixon poses in his blues with that distinctive sailor cap on his head. When I saw this photo, encased in its small, blue cardboard frame, it reminded me of a similar photo of my father that I could remember from childhood.

The whereabouts of that picture of Red Stahley are unknown, or perhaps, just not found yet (that feels more comforting to say).

As I looked through that wonderful treasure trove of photos and letters that Mike so generously shared with me, I was struck by how mature Jim looks in one photo and, in another, looks very much like the very young man that he was during those war years. It’s the same as when I compare the photos of my father.

And so, the journey of discovery continues. What a wonderful voyage it is.

Responses

  1. I like the determined look on his face. Only thing missing is the Ever Ready battery on his shoulder daring someone to knock it off.

    • Gary,

      I agree! Those fierce eyes are just daring somebody (anybody) to make one false move. Those PT sailors really knew how to get their “game face” on when it was needed.

      Thanks for your support.

      Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

