Posted by: SJS | June 16, 2013

Father’s Day 2013

George & Junior '26

On the day set aside to honor fathers, I am especially aware of all that I received from my father as well as my two grandfathers. In this photo, my grandfather George “Pop” Stahley holds his son, George Stahley Junior. The year is 1926 when Pop was 21 years old and my father was 18 months old. Looking at this photo, I am struck with the enormous impact they both had on my life.

Now that I’ve been a father myself for over 18 years, my understanding of the enduring significance of fatherhood continues to expand. In very different ways, these two men along with my maternal grandfather, Bernard “Pop” O’Neill, taught me by word and example the most essential life lessons I’ve ever learned, most importantly how to be a father.

So on that Father’s Day 2013, I offer a word of thanks for all of our fathers, living and deceased.

Leave a Reply

Categories

