Posted by: SJS | June 3, 2013

Red & Rita June 3, 1950

Red & Rita on their wedding day in 1950

Red & Rita on their wedding day in 1950

It was 63 years ago today that George “Red” Stahley and Rita Marie O’Neill were married at Incarnation Catholic Church in the Olney section of Philadelphia. Somehow, it just doesn’t seem right that 1950 was 63 years ago but since I’m almost 62 I guess I just have to face the facts.

This photograph was given to me a few months ago by my uncle, Frank Morris, who discovered it in a box of old family photos at the family home in Camp Hill, PA. The photo also features Rita’s mother, my grandmother, Nellie O’Neill in the background. Nana O’Neill looks busy and preoccupied, as always.

Among the most gratifying aspects of working on this blog has been the sharing of photographs by family members and fellow members of the “extended PT boat” family. The longer I stay on the blog path, the more discoveries I seem to make. What a long, strange, and wonderful trip it’s been.

Responses

  1. Steve,

    Very nice, wow what a wonderful picture. As always thanks for sharing.

    Aneise

  2. Aneise,

    Many thanks for your kind words and for the excellent Navy research materials that you’ve provided. I appreciate your ongoing support.

    Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

