Posted by: SJS | November 21, 2012

A special gift from Tom Saffles

photo from Tom S.

Photo of Red, words of Tom

After Tom made contact with me in October of 2010, he promised to send me some wartime photos of my father. Within a few weeks, a large envelope arrived in the mail and the first picture I saw was this one. Along with the image of my father’s face were the handwritten words of Tom. It was such a precious gift to receive. As we celebrate this Thanksgiving holiday, I find myself grateful beyond words that this man who was my father’s closest buddy during their PT days also became a friend of mine. Our prayers continue for Tom’s family as they mourn the loss of this remarkable man who touched so many people with his love, his sense of humor, and his limitless generosity.

Leave a Reply

Categories

