Posted by: SJS | August 16, 2012

Following the PT in front

In the course of my research, I’ve come upon a wide variety of PT photographs.  Several old friends have gifted me with books about the PTs and new friends that I’ve made through the blog and the website have become a steady source of fascinating PT photographs.  I’ve been overwhelmed with the level of interest and the kindness of so many.

A view from behind

A view of a PT boat from behind the stern

I must confess that the source of this photograph has eluded me.  I’m not sure of the squadron or the number of this craft.   The view of a PT from off the stern is a very, very good one.  The sophisticated radar tower on this boat seems to indicate that it is one of the later model PTs,  launched probably in 1944 or 1945.  The deck is filled with equipment and weaponry.  Whether it is on a training run or plowing the waters of the English Channel or the Aleutians or somewhere else is uncertain at this point.  The sailors on board seem to be dressed in cold-weather gear.

As my journey of exploration continues, the helpful input of so many interested persons is certainly encouraging.  We’ll keep moving forward.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Categories

