Posted by: SJS | July 26, 2012

PTs in column formation

In addition to The Cat in the Hat and Yertle the Turtle by Dr. Seuss, my favorite book as a young child was PT Boat.  The slender book with the green cover told the story of a young man who joined the Navy and was trained to be an officer assigned to a PT boat squadron.  Even before I learned to read, the photographs in the book captivated my imagination.  As I listened to my father’s stories about his Navy days, the photographs in that book had gave me a strong visual image of the PTs in action.

PTs in column formation

PTs moving out in formation

This photo of PTs in a classic column formation was one that I returned to time and time again.  I never grew tired of locating this page in the middle of the book and picturing my father below deck on the lead boat, seated at his radio, getting ready for another mission in the South Pacific.

By the time I was eight or nine years old, the pages were starting to fall out of the book because I had spent so much time working through them.  The book’s spine was crumbling and the green cover with the famous mosquito riding the torpedo was fading.  Despite the wear and tear, the book survived and I’m happy to share those photos now with the rest of the world.

Responses

  1. Hey, I was just looking up my grandfather’s Navy muster roll (July 1, 1945) on Ancestry.com and your father and my grandfather are on the same roll. Pretty cool! At least, I think so. Loving your blog. Keep it up. Darren

    • Darren,

      That really is cool! Glad to know that you’re pursuing the research on your grandfather. I hope you can connect with the good folks at PT Boats, Inc. in Tennessee. If you ever get a chance to visit there and spend some time with them, you just might be able to find some valuable info on your grandfather’s service. Keep researching!
      Thanks for your continued support.

      Steve

  2. Incredible photograph, Steve.

    • Dudley,

      Thanks. I think this photo may have been taken by one of the professional photographers used the the Navy in WWII. The way the photo is composed is really impressive.

      Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

