Posted by: SJS | June 19, 2012

Red & Mary in 1927

Locating the photo of Red’s eighth grade graduation for last week’s post prompted me to look further back in the “family archives” to find some earlier photographs of my father.  In the process, I came across this gem which was probably taken in 1926 or 1927.  The close bond between mother and son captured in this photo, taken by my grandfather, was emblematic of their relationship for the rest of their lives.

Mother and son in 1927

Red and his mother in 1927

As I look at my grandmother’s face in the photo, I catch glimpses of the faces of my sisters.  As I look at my father’s face, I can see elements on the faces of our children, Thomas and Sarah, as well as the faces of several of our nieces and nephews.

Nurtured by the fierce, unflagging love of his mother, the gentle, affectionate love of his father, and no siblings to compete with, Red grew up believing that the world was his oyster.  The confidence and glibness he carried with him into the Navy played no small part in his success as a PT sailor.  When I see photos like this one, there is no doubt about where those qualities came from.

Leave a Reply

Categories

